Scientific Program

SEMRC 2011 Poster Awards:
Three 1st Class Awards
Three 2nd Class Awards


November 4th (Friday)
3:15-4:40 pm Warming up seminar for early arrivals (Location: 101 Parker H. Peitt Science Center) Thomas W. Dixon (GE Global Research): Advances in Magnetic Resonance in vivo Imaging: Exchange-dependent Saturation Transfer (CEST)
(This seminar is not an official SEMRC event. Rather, it is a regular Seminar in the Chemistry Seminar Serires at GSU. However, all the SEMRC delegates are welcome to attend. Refreshment will be served at 3:15 and seminar will start at 3:30 pm.)
4:00-6:00 pm Registration, Posters set up and poster viewing
Welcome reception, mixer, hors d'oeuvres
SEMRC Venue: Urban Life Building Auditorium
(Room 220, which is about 30 feet from the Parker H. Peitt Science Center, one block away from the Georgia State Marta Rail Station)
6:00-6:10 pm Mark P. Becker, President of Georgia State University: Opening Remarks

Session 1 (Chair: Aimin Liu, Georgia State University)
6:15-6:45 pm Stefan Stoll (University of Washington): Hydrogen Bonding of Tryptophan Radicals Revealed by EPR at 700 GHz
6:45-7:15 pm Jeffrey L. Urbauer (University of Georgia): Structural Studies of Estrogen Receptor Alpha Activation by Calmodulin
7:15-7:45 pm Xiaoping Hu (Emory University): Probing Brain Connectivity with MRI

November 5th (Saturday)
8:00 am Coffee & Donuts

Session 2 (Chair: Kurt Warncke, Emory University)
8:10-8:40 am R. David Britt (University of California Davis): An EPR Picture of Cobalt and Manganese Water Oxidation Catalysis
8:40-9:10 am Mike Hendrich (Carnegie Mellon University): EPR Detection of Intermediates in the Enzymatic Cycle of an Extradiol Dioxygenase
9:10-9:40 am Michael T. Green (Penn State University): Cytochrome P450 Compound I: Capture, Characterization, and C-H Bond Activation
9:40-10:10 am Brian Bennett (National Biomedical EPR Center): EPR Approaches for Biomedicine at the National Biomedical EPR Center
10:10-10:30 am Coffee Break & Poster Viewing

Session 3 (Chair: Markus Germann, Georgia State University)
10:30-11:00 am Mirko Hennig (University of South Carolina): RNA-protein Interactions involved in microRNA Biogenesis
11:00-11:30 am Richard W. Kriwacki (St. Jude Children's Research Hospital): Intrinsically Disordered Proteins; Insights into Structure, Dynamics and Mechanism from NMR
11:30-12:00 am Yong Zhang (Stevens Institute of Technology): Quantum Chemical Investigations of Characteristic NMR Chemical Shifts Leading to Novel HNO Binding Models in Myoglobin
12:00-12:15 pm Ian Mitchelle S. De Vera (University of Florida) : 1H-15N HSQC and Pulsed EPR Analysis of a Multi-drug Resistant HIV-1 Protease Variant
12:15-12:30 pm Aaron Macy (Florida Institute of Technology): Emersion of the Mangrove Rivulus, an Amphibious Fish, Does Not Induce Hypoxia: Evidence from in vivo whole-animal 31P NMR
12:25-1:15 pm Lunch Break

Session 4: William H. Nelson Memorial Lecture (Chair: H. Richard Miller, Georgia State University)
1:15-1:45 pm David Close (East Tennessee State University): Experimental and Theoretical Studies of Radiation Induced Damage in DNA Constituents

Session 5 (Chair: Hanno Johannes Leisen, Georgia Institute of Technology)
1:45-2:15 pm Warren Warren (Duke University): Re-examining 1950s Spin Physics to Improve Modern Magnetic Resonance Microscopy and Imaging
2:15-2:45 pm Mark "Marty" Pagel (University of Arizona): Molecular imaging with CEST MRI
2:45-3:05 pm

Hui Mao (Emory University): Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopic Detection of IDH Mutations and 2-HG: A New Biomarker for Brain Tumor Diagnosis and Classification

3:05-3:25 pm

Yuping Bao (University of Alabama): Design Parameters of Magnetic Nanoparticles as Efficient MRI Contrast Agents

3:25-3:45 pm Coffee Break & Poster Viewing

Session 6 (Chair: Dabney W. Dixon, Georgia State University)
3:45-4:00 pm Matt Krzyaniak (University of Alabama): The EPR Characterization of the Oxygen Induced Radical Intermediates in Neuronal Nitric Oxide Synthase
4:00-4:15 pm William A. Gunderson (Emory University): Copper(II)-imidazole Coordination Structure in Soluble and Fibrillar Forms of the Amyloid-β Protein
4:15-4:30 pm Jie Jiang (Georgia State University): Ca2+ Modulated Structural Bases for CaM Activation and Inhibition of RyR1 via the Multiple Binding Sites
4:30-4:45 pm Anna Kuznetsova (University of Florida): Structural Analysis of the C-Terminus of Lung Surfactant Protein B
4:45-5:00 pm Junjie Liu (Florida State University): High-Field EPR Studies of a [ReCl4(CN)2]2- Molecular Building Block: A New Strategy for Designing Single-Chain Magnets

Session 7 Quantum Spin Dynamics Lecture (Chair: Stephen Hill, NHMFL)
5:00-5:30 pm Irinel Chiorescu (Florida State University) : Photon Manipulation of Spins and Sensitive Detection by On-chip Methods

5:30-7:30 pm Poster Session

November 6th (Sunday)
8:00 am Coffee & Donuts

Session 8 (Chair: Jenny J. Yang, Georgia State University)
8:10-8:40 am Robert S. Balaban (NIH/NHLBI): Non-linear Optics: Probing the Molecular Structure and Function of the Cell
8:40-9:00 am Haskell W. Beckham (Georgia Institute of Technology): NMR Relaxometry for Materials Characterization: Nanoparticles in Solid Polymers
9:00-9:20 am Andrew Ozarowski (NHMFL): High-Field EPR Investigation of the Intermolecular Exchange Interactions in Copper Carboxylates
9:20-9:40 am Eduardus (Evert) Duin (Auburn University): A Closer Look at the Spectroscopic Properties of Possible Reaction Intermediates in WT and Mutant (E)-4-hydroxy-3-methyl-but-2-enyl Diphosphate Reductase (IspH/LytB).
9:40-10:00 am Qun Zhao (University of Georgia): Enhancing Magnetic Resonance Imaging using Contrast Agent and its Quantifications
10:00-10:20 am Lavrent Khachatryan (Louisiana State University): Generation of Hydroxyl Radical at the Interface of CuO/Silica Nanoparticles in Aqueous Solution
10:20-10:40 am Coffee Break & Poster Viewing

Session 9 (Chair: Joanna R. Long, University of Florida)
10:40-11:10 am Astrid Gräslund (Stockholm University, Sweden): NMR Studies of the Amyloid Peptide Involved in Alzheimer's Disease: Molecular Interactions, Secondary Structure Conversions and Aggregation
11:10-11:40 am Alexander Angerhofer (University of Florida): High Field EPR on Oxalate Decarboxylase, a Mn-Dependent Oxalate-Metabolizing Enzyme
11:40-12:00 pm Adam Magyar (University of Alabama): EPR Spin Trapping Studies of Radicals Scavenged by Carotenoids
12:00-12:15 pm Li Sun (Emory University): Probing Dynamical Contributions to B12 Enzyme Catalysis by Using the Temperature Dependence of Electron Spin-lattice Relaxation
12:15-12:30 pm Sanhita Ghosh (Florida State University): Coherent Spin Manipulation of Mononuclear Lanthanide-based Single Molecule Magnet
12:30-12:40 pm Poster Awards
12:40-1:30 pm Lunch
1:30 pm Closing